UP Election 2017: Divided along religion and caste lines, a clear trend remains elusive

“So, who’s winning in Uttar Pradesh?” That is the inevitable question you are confronted with on your return from a tour of the state. And, you are expected to offer a clear answer. Say that the picture is hazy and a hung assembly is likely, and you invite disappointed faces. The best way out in this scenario is, to be honest, and express your helplessness at answering the question.

“Bhai, I can tell you why Katappa killed Bahubali, but don’t ask me about UP. It is just too complicated” should be your answer.

It’s complicated indeed! No surprise then that all the political parties in the fray have been claiming victory at the end of each phase of polling while election watchers have been throwing up different w...

Read More

PM Modi is ‘Mr Negative Dalit Man’, Mayawati hits back

SULTANPUR (UP): BSP supremo Mayawati today hit back at Prime Minister Narendra Modi, terming him as “Mr Negative Dalit Man”.

“Perturbed at the rising popularity of the BSP, the prime minister is indulging in cheap things and indulging in petty talk about its supreme leader and has termed BSP as ‘Behenji Sampatti Party’ (Behenji Assets Party),” she said at an election rally here.

Mayawati is popularly known as ‘Behenji’.

“He (Modi) is an expert in jumlebaazi (rhetoric) but when he will get a tit-for-tat reply he will forget all about it and today I have been compelled to do the same for him,” she said.

“Narendra Damodardas Modi means Mr Negative Dalit Man, he is anti-dalit… This negative dalit man does not like that c...

Read More

After three phases of polling, opponents battling hard to save honour: PM Modi in Phulpur

Launching a scathing attack on his political rivals, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday urged people to give BJP an opportunity to serve Uttar Pradesh for five years and promised to deliver success on every parameter. Addressing an election rally in Allahabad’s Phulpur, the prime minister said, “Ek taraf wo apni izzat bachaane ka chunaav lad rahe hain, dusri taraf hum UP ka bhagya badalne ka chunaav lad rahe hain (On one hand, our political opponents are contesting election to save their honour, on the other hand, we are contesting to change the fortunes of UP.)

 PM Modi, Modi in Phulpur, UP elections 2017, UP polls, UP elections, Uttar Pradesh elections, PM Modi, SP-Congress, demonetisation, save honour, SP-Congress, Rahul Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav, Mayawati, India news, Indian Express

“Teen charan ke baad ye teeno dal(SP,Cong,BSP) isme lage hain ki itni seats aa jayein ki bas izzat bach jaaye (After the end of three phases of electi...

Read More

UP Election 2017: With Modi’s demonetisation gamble, SP-Congress’ unfamiliar alliance, no clear winner in state

The outcome of the ongoing Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls still hangs in a delicate balance. There is no clear winner in sight even at the mid-way mark of this gruelling month-long seven-phase electoral battle across India’s by far most populous state. Indeed, none of the three main contenders – BJP, Samajwadi Party–Congress alliance and the BSP – can boast yet of a tail wind let alone a wave to propel them towards decisive victory.

For the BJP, despite its surface triumphalism party insiders are jittery about it securing a clear majority or even emerging as the number one party in a possible hung assembly scenario...

Read More