Monthly Archives January 2017

BJP Releases Manifesto For Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017: Highlights

LUCKNOW:  BJP President Amit Shah today released the party’s manifesto for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections , which will be held in seven phases from February 11. While releasing the manifesto, called ‘Lok Kalyan Sankalp Patra’ (Pledge for People’s Welfare), the BJP president said the party will form government in Uttar Pradesh with a two-thirds majority. He attacked the Samajwadi Party and Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party which have ruled Uttar Pradesh for the last 15 years, accusing them of doing nothing change to develop it. The BJP, he said, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, would turn UP into a developed state, the way it has other states it rules...

Read More

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017: Congress Workers In Amethi, Raebareli Are Upset. Over To Priyanka Gandhi

Priyanka Gandhi, credited with driving an alliance with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and rescuing it from the brink of collapse, is now trying to iron out new complications in their relationship about her family’s stronghold of Amethi and Raebareli.

Priyanka Gandhi does not hold an official position with the Congress, whose top two bosses are her mother, Sonia, and brother, Rahul.

But for this election in Uttar Pradesh, her party has for the first time ever described her role as pivotal, hard-selling her publicly as the leader who negotiated the crucial partnership with Akhilesh Yadav, without which the Congress would be a bit player in the crucial state.


Uttar Pradesh Elections: Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi File Photo

Uttar Pradesh Elections: Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gan...

Read More

Punjab Elections 2017: Candidates Visit Sirsa Dera To Seek ‘Blessings’

Punjab Elections 2017: Candidates Visit Sirsa Dera To Seek ‘Blessings’

Punjab Elections 2017: Candidates Visit Sirsa Dera To Seek 'Blessings'

Punjab elections 2017: Several candidates met Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh today. (file photo)

CHANDIGARH:  Several assembly election candidates from ruling SAD-BJP and the Congress in Punjab today visited the Sirsa-headquarted Dera Sacha Sauda to “seek blessings” of the sect chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh ahead of the February 4 polls in the state.

Over 20 candidates, including Akali Dal leader and finance minister Parminder Singh Dhindsa, former Punjab chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal and Congress youth leader Amrinder Singh Raja Warring, reached Sirsa to meet the sect chief.

Notably, the Election Commission strictly prohibits the use ...

Read More

BJP candidates for Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released the list of candidates contesting in Uttarakhand Assembly elections 2017. The assembly elections in Uttarakhand are going to be held in single phase on February 15, 2017. the results will be announced on March 11, 2017.

The list includes 12 former Congress leaders who recently joined BJP.

Here is the list of Candidates:


S/No. Constituency Candidate
1 Purola (SC) Shri Malchand, MLA
2 Yamunotri Shri Kedar Singh Rawat, Ex-MLA
3 Gangotri Shri Gopal Singh Rawat, Ex-MLA
4 Badrinath Shri Mahendra Bhatt, Ex-MLA
5 Tharali (SC) Shri Maganlal Shah
6 Karnprayag Shri Surendra Singh Negi
7 Kedar...
Read More