All you need to know about the Manipur Council of Ministers

N. Biren Singh was sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur in Imphal on March 15, 2017 along with eight other Ministers.


Short profiles of the nine Ministers in the Cabinet.

Manipur Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh is a politician who has donned many hats. A graduate from Manipur University in Arts, Mr. Singh hails from Luwangsangbam Mamang Leikai, a rural area in Imphal East district and has been representing Heingang Assembly constituency in the district since 2002. The 56-year-old politician, who has been a national-level footballer, served in the central paramilitary forces and also worked as an editor of a local newspaper.

T. Biswajit Singh

Thongam Biswajit Singh became an MLA in 2012 on a Trinamool Congress ticket. In 2015, he “voluntarily” gave up his Trinamool membership formed a new party along with two other MLAs. Later they were disqualified by the Manipur Speaker. Mr. Thongam Biswajit Singh returned to the Assembly in November 2015, this time as a BJP member.

Yumnan Joykumar

Manipur’s Deputy Chief Minister Yumnan Joykumar was the DGP of the State till recently. A leader of the National People’s Party, Mr. Joykumar won from Uripok in a close contest. Mr. Joykumar is an alumnus of Delhi University and holds an MSc in Physics.

L. Jayantakumar

After serving in Manipur Judicial Service for 13 years, L. Jayantakumar took his political plunge in 2000. He served as a Minister in various capacities in the Manipur government. He quit the Congress just before the Assembly polls and won from Keishamthong by over 3,000 votes as an NPP candidate.

N. Kayisii

National People’s Party leader N. Kayisii won the Tadubi seat defeating his nearest BJP rival by 1,299 votes before joining the BJP-led government.

Letpao Haokip

Letpao Haokip is among the four MLAs of the National People’s Party, founded by former Lok Sabha Speaker P.A. Sangma. He won from Chandel.

Losi Dikho

Mao MLA Losi Dikho is the Naga People’s Front nominee in the Manipur Cabinet. The party has four members in the House.

Karam Shyam

Karam Shyam is the lone Lok Jan Shakti Party MLA in the Cabinet. He won from Langthabal constituency defeating the BJP candidate by over 2,300 votes.

Thounaojam Shyamkumar

Thounaojam Shyamkumar won the Andro seat on a Congress ticket and shifted allegiance to the opposite side. His expulsion from the Congress made the government formation a smooth affair for the BJP.

 N. Biren Singh Biography

12th Chief Minister Of Manipur

Nongthombam Biren Singh (born 1 January 1961) is an Indian politician and former footballer and journalist. He is the current Chief Minister of Manipur.

He began his career as a footballer and got recruited in the Border Security Force (BSF) playing for its team in domestic competitions. He resigned from the BSF and turned to journalism. Despite having had no formal training and experience, he began the vernacular daily Naharolgi Thoudang in 1992 and worked as the editor till 2001.

Turning to politics in 2002, Singh joined the Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party and won the assembly elections from Heingang. He retained the seat in 2007 contesting with a Indian National Congress ticket after joining the party in 2003. Serving as the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, he quit the party in 2016 before joining the Bharatiya Janata Party. In 2017, he retained his seat from Heingang again and was named the Chief Minister after his party, gaining outside support formed the government.

Political career

In 2002, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Manipur, as the Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party candidate in the constituency Heingang. He later joined the Indian National Congress.

In May 2003 he was appointed Minister of State of Vigilance in the Manipur state government.

In 2007 he retained his Assembly seat, contesting on behalf of the Indian National Congress. He was later appointed as the Minister of Irrigation & Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports in the State Government.In 2012 he again retained his Assembly seat for the third consecutive term.

In September 2015, Biren stated that the recently passed bill in the Manipur Legislative Assembly to protect indigenous peoples would not harm any community in the state.

In October 2016, Biren resigned from the Manipur Legislative Assembly and the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee, this came after revolt against Chief Ministers of Manipur Okram Ibobi Singh.

Singh formally joined the BJP on 17 October 2016 and later became the Spokesperson and Co-convener of the Election Management Committee of BJP Manipur Pradesh. He won the 2017 Manipur Legislative Assembly Election from Heingang Assembly Constituency.

In March 2017, he was elected as leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Manipur and with a majority of MLAs having been presented to the Governor, he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur on 15 March 2017. He is the first ever BJP Chief Minister in Manipur.