Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections Results 2017

The BJP is on course to form the next government in Himachal Pradesh, leading in 42 of 68 seats, and wresting the state from the Congress. The saffron party, however, suffered a loss as its CM candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal lost in his Sujanpur constituency. The party now faces the challenge to find a replacement for Dhumal. Counting is underway at 42 centres for the Himachal Pradesh assembly election result 2017 and the state seems to have kept true to its reputation of being a swing state — switching sides each election. In 2012, the Congress won 36 seats in the 68-seat Assembly, while the BJP won 26 seats.



Constituency Candidate Party Status
Chopal Balbir Singh Verma BJP Gains
Rohru Mohan Lal Brakta CONG Holds
Chintpurni Balbir Singh BJP Gains
Jaisinghpur Ravinder Kumar BJP Gains
Banjar Surender Shourie BJP Gains
Sundernagar Rakesh Kumar BJP Gains
Mandi Anil Sharma BJP Gains
Balh Inder Singh BJP Gains
Theog Rakesh Singha CPM Gains
Jogindernagar Prakash Rana IND Gains
Dehra Hoshyar Singh IND Gains
Kasauli Rajiv Saizal BJP Holds
Kasumpti Anirudh Singh CONG Holds
Solan Dr. (Col.) Dhani Ram Shandil CONG Holds
Shimla Suresh Bhardwaj BJP Holds
Sarkaghat Inder Singh BJP Holds
Dharampur Mahender Singh BJP Holds
Anni Kishori Lal BJP Gains
Karsog Hira Lal BJP Gains
Bharmour Jia Lal BJP Gains
Chamba Pawan Nayyar BJP Holds
Gagret Rajesh Thakur BJP Gains
Lahaul & Spiti Dr. Ram Lal Markanda BJP Gains
Nalagarh Lakhvinder Singh Rana CONG Gains
Nachan Vinod Kumar BJP Holds
Seraj Jai Ram Thakur BJP Holds
Sri Renukaji Vinay Kumar CONG Holds
Kangra Pawan Kumar Kajal CONG Gains
Palampur Ashish Butail CONG Holds
Haroli Mukesh Agnihotri CONG Holds
Una Satpal Singh Raizada CONG Gains
Dharamshala Kishan Kapoor BJP Gains
Jubbal-Kotkhai Narinder Bragta BJP Gains
Rampur Nand Lal CONG Holds
Doon Paramjeet Singh BJP Gains
Bilaspur Subhash Thakur BJP Gains
Pachhad Suresh Kumar Kashyap BJP Holds
Paonta Sahib Sukh Ram BJP Gains
Kullu Sunder Singh Thakur CONG Gains
Shillai Harshwardhan Chauhan CONG Gains
Churah Hans Raj BJP Holds
Ghumarwin Rajinder Garg BJP Gains
Sullah Vipin Singh Parmar BJP Gains
Jhanduta Jeet Ram Katwal BJP Holds
Baijnath Mulkh Raj BJP Gains
Nahan Dr Rajeev Bindal BJP Holds
Nadaun Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu CONG Gains
Kutlehar Virender Kanwar BJP Holds
Shahpur Sarveen Choudhary BJP Holds
Sujanpur Rajinder Rana CONG Gains
Shimla Rural Vikramaditya Singh CONG Holds
Barsar Inder Dutt Lakhanpal CONG Holds
Kinnaur Jagat Singh Negi CONG Holds
Manali Govind Singh Thakur BJP Holds
Nurpur Rakesh Pathania BJP Gains
Dalhousie Asha Kumari CONG Holds
Indora Reeta Devi BJP Gains
Hamirpur Narinder Thakur BJP Holds
Fatehpur Sujan Singh Pathania CONG Holds
Bhoranj Kamlesh Kumari BJP Holds
Nagrota Arun Kumar BJP Gains
Jaswan-Pragpur Bikram Singh BJP Holds
Jawalamukhi Ramesh Chand Dhawala BJP Gains
Jawali Arjun Singh BJP Gains
Darang Jawahar Thakur BJP Gains
Sri Naina Deviji Ram Lal Thakur CONG Gains
Bhattiyat Bikram Singh Jaryal BJP Holds
Arki Virbhadra Singh CONG Gains

Tweet by Rahul Gandhi:

The Congress party accepts the verdict of the people and congratulates the new governments in both states. I thank the people of Gujarat and Himachal with all my heart for the love they showed me, tweets Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Also he thanked the party workers for their tireless efforts. Taking to twitter, hge said, “My Congress brothers and sisters, you have made me very proud. You are different than those you fought because you fought anger with dignity. You have demonstrated to everyone that the Congress’s greatest strength is its decency and courage.”


  • Indu Goswami | BJP


  • Anil Sharma | BJP


  • Prem Kumar Dhumal | BJP


  • Rajinder Rana | CONG


  • Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu | CONG


  • Satpal Singh Satti | BJP


  • Virbhadra Singh | CONG


  • Vijay Jyoti Sain | BJP


  • Pramod Sharma | BJP

    Shimla RuralTRAILING

  • Vikramaditya Singh | CONG

    Shimla Rural