Trivendra Singh Rawat Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

Trivendra Singh Rawat (born December 1960 is an Indian politician and is the ninth and current Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

T.S.Rawat was a member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh from 1979 to 2002 and held the post of organizing secretary of the Uttarakhand region, and later the state, after its formation in 2000. He was elected from Doiwala in the State’s first legislative assembly elections in 2002. He retained his seat in the 2007 elections and served as the State’s Minister of Agriculture.

As a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he served as Jharkhand’s in-charge and Uttarakhand cadre’s president. Winning from Doiwala again in 2017, he was named the Chief Minister after his party won majority and formed the government.

Early life and career

Rawat was born in December 1960 in the village of Khairasain in Pauri Garhwal district of Uttarakhand . He was the ninth and youngest child in the family. He obtained his master’s degree in journalism from Birla Campus in Srinagar affiliated to the Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University.

Rawat joined the right-wing organisation Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1979 before becoming its pracharak (apostle) for the Dehradun region in 1985. Subsequently, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the political party associated with it. He was made BJP’s organizing secretary for the Uttarakhand region and worked with senior BJP leader Lalji Tandon at the time. He was also actively involved in the Uttarakhand movement, during which he was arrested several times. After the region received statehood in 2000, Rawat was made the state cadre’s BJP president.

Trivendra Singh lost a byelection from Doiwala (Uttarakhand Assembly constituency) in 2014, when the seat was vacated by former chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal. This year (2017), he won the same Assembly constituency of Doiwala.

BJP makes big gains in Uttarakhand

Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath as Uttarakhand Chief Minister

BJP leader and former Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) pracharak Trivendra Singh Rawat took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on Saturday afternoon.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Uma Bharati, outgoing Uttrakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar attended the swearing-in ceremony at the Parade Grounds in Dehradun.

Mr. Rawat was sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of the hill State. The oath of office was administered by Uttarakhand Governor K.K. Paul.

While Saptal Maharaj, Prakash Pant, Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik, Yashpal Arya, Arvind Pandey and Subodh Uniyal were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers, Rekha Arya and Dhan Singh Rawat were sworn in as Ministers of State.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the Ministers in the newly formed BJP government in Uttarakhand.

Satpal Maharaj, former Union Minister and two-time Congress MP, won the 2017 State Assembly polls from the Chaubattakhal seat, is entering the Uttarakhand Assembly for the first time. Mr. Maharaj had crossed over from the Congress to the BJP before the Lok Sabha polls in the year 2014. While Mr. Maharaj did not contest the 2014 polls, he rigorously participated during the campaigning for the party in States across the country.

56-year-old BJP leader Prakash Pant, who was a front runner for the post of Uttarakhand Chief Minister, is an MLA from the Pithoragarh seat. When Uttarakhand was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in the year 2000, Mr. Pant was made the first speaker of the State Assembly. Mr. Pant had won the Pithoragarh Assembly seat in 2002 and 2007, but failed to win again in the 2012 polls.

57-year-old MLA Harak Singh Rawat, who won the recent State Assembly polls from the Kotdwar seat, was at the forefront of the rebellion against the outgoing Chief Minister Harish Rawat that rocked the State Assembly in 2016. The rebellion later led to the imposition of President’s rule in the State.

Cabinet Minister Madan Kaushik is a 52-year-old BJP MLA from the Haridwar constituency.

67-year-old Dalit leader in the party, Yashpal Arya, crossed over to the BJP just before the Assembly polls after the Congress denied candidature to his son Sanjeev Arya. The BJP, however, gave candidature to Mr. Arya and his son. While Yashpal Arya is an MLA from the Bajpur seat, his son is a BJP MLA from the Nainital seat.

45-year-old BJP MLA Arvind Pandey won the Gadarpur constituency and BJP MLA Subodh Uniyal is from the Narendranagar constituency.

Minister of State Rekha Arya, an MLA from the Someshwar constituency, sided with the BJP when Mr. Harish Rawat sought a trust vote in the State Assembly last year. Ms. Arya later crossed over to the BJP.

47-year-old BJP leader Dhan Singh Rawat lost the 2012 polls from the Srinagar seat, but won it this time during the recently held Assembly polls.